Skip to content

Utah- SB106 is going to screw you

February 21, 2010

URGENT LEGISLATIVE ALERT

Utah Bill to Ban the Use of Aftermarket Exhaust Systems is on the Move

A substitute bill (S.B. 106) to ban the use of most aftermarket exhaust systems has been introduced in the Utah State Legislature by Senator Patricia Jones (pjones@utahsenate.org) and passed by the Senate Transportation Committee.  The bill now moves to the floor of the Senate for a vote by all members.  Under the substitute bill, all vehicles must be equipped with an exhaust system that is “installed by the original manufacturer of the vehicle and is not modified; or meets specifications equivalent to the muffler installed by the original manufacturer of the vehicle and is not modified.”

We Urge You to Contact All Utah State Senators (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Opposition to S.B. 106

  • S.B. 106 ignores the fact that aftermarket exhaust systems are designed to make vehicles run more efficiently without increasing emissions.
  • S.B. 106 does not supply law enforcement with a clear standard to enforce, allowing them to make subjective judgments on whether or not a modified exhaust system is in violation.
  • S.B. 106 fails to recognize that aftermarket exhaust systems offer increased performance, which can make a vehicle safer by improving its ability to merge, pass, travel uphill, etc.
  • S.B. 106 would make it difficult for hobbyists to replace factory exhaust systems with more durable, better performing options.

DON’T DELAY! Please contact all Utah Senators immediately by phone or e-mail to request their opposition to S.B. 106.

Utah State Senators

Senator Luz Robles

Phone: 801/521-0407

Email: lrobles@utahsenate.org

Senator Ben McAdams

Phone: 801/359-2544

Email: bmcadams@utahsenate.org

Senator Patricia W. Jones

Phone: 801/322-5722

Email: pjones@utahsenate.org

Senator Karen Mayne

Phone: 801/968-7756

Email: kmayne@utahsenate.org

Senator Michael G. Waddoups

Phone: 801/355-1136

Email: waddoups@utahsenate.org

Senator Ross I. Romero

Phone: 801/844-7229

Email: rromero@utahsenate.org

Senator Karen W. Morgan

Phone: 801/538-1406

Email: kmorgan@utahsenate.org

Senator Wayne Niederhauser

Phone: 801/558-4766

Email: wniederhauser@utahsenate.org

Senator D. Chris Buttars

Phone: 801/561-0535

Email: dcbuttars@utahsenate.org

Senator Mark B. Madsen

Phone: 801/361-4787

Email: mmadsen@utahsenate.org

Senator John L. Valentine

Phone: 801/373-6345

Email: jvalentine@utahsenate.org

Senator Margaret Dayton

Phone: 801/221-0623

Email: mdayton@utahsenate.org

Senator Curtis S. Bramble

Phone: 801/226-3663

Email: cbramble@utahsenate.org

Senator Peter C. Knudson

Phone: 435/723-6366

Email: pknudson@utahsenate.org

Senator Jon J. Greiner

Phone: 801/629-8226

Email: jgreiner@utahsenate.org

Senator Allen M. Christensen

Phone: 801/710-0315

Email: achristensen@utahsenate.org

Senator Scott K. Jenkins

Phone: 801/621-5412

Email: sjenkins@utahsenate.org

Senator Davis Jerry W. Stevenson

Phone: 801/430-2575

Email: jstevenson@utahsenate.org

Senator Davis Stuart Adams

Phone: 801/546-6000

Email: sadams@utahsenate.org

Senator Davis Daniel R. Liljenquist

Phone: 801/294-2378

Email: dliljenquist@utahsenate.org

Senator Wayne Ralph Okerlund

Phone: 435/979-7077

Email: rokerlund@utahsenate.org

Senator Rich Lyle W. Hillyard

Phone: 435/752-2610

Email: lhillyard@utahsenate.org

Senator Kevin Van Tassell

Phone: 435/789-7082

Email: kvantassell@utahsenate.org

Senator David P. Hinkins

Phone: 435/748-2828

Email: dhinkins@utahsenate.org

Senator Dennis E. Stowell

Phone: 435/559-8143

Email: dstowell@utahsenate.org

Senator Stephen H. Urquhart

Phone: 435/668-7759

Email: surquhart@utahsenate.org

Senator Gene Davis

Phone: 801/484-9442

Email: gdavis@utahsenate.org

Senator Brent Goodfellow

Phone: 801/556-4871

Email: bgoodfellow@utahsenate.org

Senator Howard Stephenson

Phone: 801/972-8814

Email: hstephenson@utahsenate.org

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance.

Advertisements
One Comment leave one →
  1. Angela Loertscher permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:39 am

    Dear Senators,

    As a classic car owner, and a motorcyclist I think this Bill is completely ridiculous and extremely unfair.
    As a motorcyclist, the loud pipes on my bike save my life on a DAILY basis. Other drivers do not pay attention to motorcycles, they cut us off, run us off the road, or worse; they hit us, killing hundreds every year. The loud pipes enable me to warn a driver who is not paying attention that I am there.
    How can you possibly support a Bill that would hasten me being hit on my bike, or worse killed? How can you support a Bill that would assist or lead to potentially hundreds more deaths every year? Even Governor Huntsman rides a motorcycle, as do a good portion of the Utah Highway Patrol. Are you to tell them, they can no longer ride, or do their jobs because you passed this Bill?
    I have come across allot of insane laws in my life, but this by far takes the cake! To willing approve of something that endangers so many people’s lives is simply irresponsible. You are in Office to represent the constituents of your District and State, and one of you responsibilities is to protect the best interests and lives of said constituents.
    I have faith in my State Senate to work for me, my friends, neighbors and fellow Utahns, yet such a Bill has been introduced, and saddens me, deters my faith in my Senate, in Politicians who claim to work for the “lower, middle and upper classes. We work for the people, we work for you!”
    Please reconsider your position on this Bill, it is never too late to do the right thing!

    Sincerely,
    Angela Loertscher
    Tooele Utah

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: